Can hens be aggressive?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Chickenlovermichele, Oct 15, 2008.

1. Chickenlovermichele

Chickenlovermichele New Egg

Oct 15, 2008
    Loomis, California
    Hi Everyone! I am a newbie as of today and I am already so impressed by searching various topics and questions to see so much great information here!!

I have a question about one of my three pet hens who are 8 months old. It is the first set of chickens I have ever had and I have been so thrilled about them since raising them from 2 days old along with my two sons. All three of them are free range and love our 2 acre yard to roam in all day. They are all laying eggs (wow they are so yummy!) and have seemed to adjust well. My big question is about my New Hampshire Red whose name is Hannah. She seems to recently have become somewhat aggressive in her posturing and stance and has tried to chase me - while fluffing her feathers/flapping her wings. I have to admit that I have felt afraid of her and a couple of times I just turned and walked away only to find her following me or running after me. I don't have a good feeling about this and I notice that I am not wanting to be outside as much when she is nearby. The others are fine and I have specifically loved how wonderfully friendly my black bantam is - she loves to sit on my lap. I thought maybe it was just me, but Hannah did the same to my husband the other day - approached him and seemed to posture. She has not pecked at me, but I feel fearful that she may and I am sure she senses my fear. In my search it seems like roosters are often mean, but can hens be too? Any suggestions for a newbie to chicken raising on how to handle this and more specifically how to get past my own fear? Is there something I can do to help Hannah change her behavior? Help help please my chicken lover friends!!! [​IMG]

2. Year of the Rooster

Year of the Rooster Sebright Savvy

Jun 27, 2008
    West Central Ohio