Can I mix chick breeds?

EatMorSteak

In the Brooder
8 Years
May 28, 2011
Hello all, I am brand new to raising chickens and just got 3 OEG bantams about 3 weeks ago. They are now 5 weeks old and are great. I'm looking at getting 2 Silver Sebright Bantam chicks and I was wondering if they'll all get along ok if I put them in the same coop? I believe the Sebrights are about 3 weeks old. Thoughts from the more experienced?

Thanks!

I'd put up a wire separation panel to start out with, and let them get a good look at each other for a few days. Sometimes the OEGBs are territorial even at a young age, so introducing new birds might backfire. If you see a lot of pacing back and forth in front of the wire, glaring, and pecking at the ground, be wary: those are territorial displays. If they're ignoring each other, then after a couple of days I'd remove the panel, but watch the little rascals very closely for at least a day. Even if they're all babies together, there still will be a pecking order, and adding new birds means that the whole pecking order goes all to heck and has to be sorted out all over again. This can mean some chicks getting injured, even though they're very young.

It isnt the fact that they are different breeds, but more a problem with mixing ages.
People seem to raise all fowl together, ducks, chickens, turkeys, etc.
Anytime you introduce some new, feathers will fly. and you must protect the littler ones.

Thats why I like to hatch with a hen. she does the introductions, and keeps them safe.

i have four different breeds, they have been together since i brought them home from the feed store. Plus i introduced two new ones (same age as my current group) who were weird breeds today with no problems.