Can Khaki Campbell ducks have a white ring around their neck? 1 week old

NewJourney

Chirping
Jul 4, 2023
Pahrump, NV
I bought 5 "assorted ducks" from the bin at TSC. I believe they are Khaki Campbells. The other ducks in the bin appeared to be Mallards or Rouen but I'm a newbie just now learning about ducks and chickens. I have had my ducks for 6 days and they have already more than doubled in size! I notice that today one of the five now has a white ring forming around its neck. They all appear to have lightening of the downy feathers at the corners of their bills, but it's so minor I only notice it in bright sunlight. I am now wondering if these are Cayuga ducklings instead of KC, or perhaps something different? They like to hop up on top of the brooder plate.

I didn't anticipate them growing so darn quickly and I must now move them to a bigger brooder/pen area. I'm working on that today. Here are some photos I just took today. The duck with the lightest "bean" is the one I notice the white ring forming around its neck. For several days now I've felt like it is a drake even though they are so young. I don't know how long they were at TSC before I picked them up. I do know that I was there one week prior and purchased 12 chicks and they didn't have ducks at the time. So they are between 1 and 2 weeks old based upon that.

They are very chatty. They mumble/chatter a lot. Not very loud, but adorably noticeable. They are less scared of me and now let me reach into their area without total panic unless I'm holding something they aren't familiar with. So cute!

I'm leaning toward them being Cayugas, but I've never owned ducks before, so any help from more knowledgeable people is appreciated. Thank you!

Side note: I let Google Photos "fix lighting" which gave the red a strong pop in one of the photos. It actually did help showcase the more true colors of the ducklings. On my screen it's very true to life.

Ducks4.jpg

Attachments

• Ducks3.jpg
    Ducks3.jpg