Can The Microwave Hurt Hatching Eggs??

suzettex5

Songster
10 Years
May 26, 2009
California
I was wondering... If I am saving up fertile eggs to hatch, and I put them near, or on top of, a microwave, will the microwave put off any wierd radiation that will hurt or destroy the fertility of the eggs? I know there is a problem with postal xrays hurting eggs hatchability, but what about microwaves?

Its a newer style microwave, btw.

I don't think it will hurt them but I am no expert.
A few years ago I had one lone Ancona egg sitting out and was gonna put it with some other eggs I was getting ready to hatch.
My son put the egg in the microwave and turned it on. I am not sure for how long, but it was several seconds before I could stop him and get it out.
Anyway I went ahead and put it in the bator with the other eggs.
It was the only egg that hatched.
We named it Micro.

A microwaves radiation is contained to w/i 12 inches of the unit. They should be fine if you keep them that far away.

At first reading the header I though you were cooking them!
lol.png

My dad tried to hard boil an egg in the microwave when we first got one in the early 80's

It exploded & blew the door open showering the kitchen with broken glass & molten egg!

I have a handy little microwave egg cooker I love. It holds 4 eggs at a time, above a reservoir of water. Microwave 8 minutes, you get 4 hard-boiled eggs. Guess they're actually steam-cooked, but it was so cool to cook 'em in the microwave! Don't even have to pierce the shells first.

Whoops, sorry to hijack the thread. But midget_farms is right, the "radiation" is contained inside due to shielding, and only some is "leaked" outside to just within 12 inches or so.