Can they eat too many meal worms?

Salixx

Songster
Jun 1, 2021
Central Vermont
I’ve had my babies less than a week and it already seems like forever (in a good way)!

All of them were very flighty and hand shy. The older chicks still are but will at least come to me for food - handling is another matter.

I’ve been using mealworms to buy their love. The younger birds I have been teaching to step on my hand then I raise them out of the brooder and give them a mealworm.

Getting to that point and desensitizing th to me has resulted in a lot of mealworms being doled out. I started feeding them earthworms the first day I had them and have been making sure they have access to grit in addition to feed and water. But is there a point where there’s too many mealies? I’m not a huge fan of the corn based diets of commercial foods so I want to supplement but I am also a newbie and don’t want to over do it.

I am also at the point where I am pretty sure two of my bantams and 8 of the full sized fowl that I bought are all Easter eggers - they’ve got slate green feet and no cheek poofs. Now only one of my chipmunks is left as a question. I’ve named it Ginger for obvious reasons. It’s next to one of the big ones with the green feet.

for any who might be concerned, the chicken wire is for an outdoor, supervised only play pen. They were able to fit through all my other fencing. If I’m not able to watch them then they go back to their respective brooders 😊

Because I really wanted Golden Laced Wyandottes I ended up ordering more chicks from Meyers to be delivered in July. Six GLW female, two males, a female Golden laced Polish (they only had one for the hatch date) and six strait run mixed silkies. The S/O is in love with the three silkies we have so we had to get more.

I have a problem 😂

Attachments

• 3449A11E-20D6-4DDB-8E22-68B6BF01B26B.jpeg
    3449A11E-20D6-4DDB-8E22-68B6BF01B26B.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 65