Can two week olds go outside?

Mrs Rusty

In the Brooder
Aug 21, 2023
Hi there, my ducklings are desperate to get outside of their pen. They are almost two weeks old and have been in the house having regular baths and run around the lounge every morning. But now they are much bigger, it is much messier. The weather here in the uk is mild at the moment, around 70 degrees and I have a small area where they will be penned in and safe. I’d really like to allow them some outside time during the day and bringing them back inside at night. I’m new to ducks and can’t believe how fast they grow!!!! I don’t want to do something that will harm them but I really would like them to have some enrichment. Thanks all

Attachments

• IMG_3898.jpeg
    IMG_3898.jpeg
    540.9 KB · Views: 85
  • IMG_3862.jpeg
    IMG_3862.jpeg
    255.1 KB · Views: 9
Take them out during the day but only on warm days without a lot of wind so they don't chill. They do grow fast but when they only have down you have to be careful they don't chill or get wet. I wouldn't give them swimming water since it will be cold.
:welcome

Take them out during the day but only on warm days without a lot of wind so they don't chill. They do grow fast but when they only have down you have to be careful they don't chill or get wet. I wouldn't give them swimming water since it will be cold.
:welcome
Thanks so much. This might sound like a silly question, but will they be ok unattended? They will have a safe space and will check the weather etc first. I’m really struggling at the moment as I timed it wrong to hatch them. Feel a bit irresponsible and beating myself up over it, but trying my best for these lovely little guys. It’s hard going keeping them inside. I might try to set them up in the garage where they will have more space and heat lamp accessible. Any advice welcome.