Can you help me with winterizing my coop?

ash_en_em

Songster
5 Years
Mar 4, 2018
Northeast Ohio
Hey everyone! This is my first year with chickens, and therefore my first time prepping for winter. I have 4 Aussies who are are 8 months old, and two EEs who are coming up on 3 months. The weather here in central Ohio is beginning to turn chilly (60°F during the day this week with 33°F as the night time low). I know I need to start getting ready, and have some heavy duty "clear" tarps with grommets on order.

At what low temp should I make sure the coop is wrapped? When do you guys do it?

Also, what should I cover? I figured I'd need to cover the opening on the door, and some of my vents (it gets to be over 100° in the summer so I had to have a somewhat open coop plan). Just looking for your thoughts.

I will also be putting welded wire around the run area, burying it a foot deep, and doing any small repairs in the next two weeks.

20181011_093754.jpg
20181011_093810.jpg
20181011_095332.jpg

Thanks in advance for your help!

Attachments

• 20181011_093754.jpg
    20181011_093754.jpg
    533.5 KB · Views: 2
What are your lowest temps? Teens? Lower? How about north wind? Which direction does your coop door face? You might be wise to construct a ninety degree "vestibule" at the coop entrance so the wind won't blow directly into the coop if it's facing north or whichever direction your coldest wind comes from.

The last thing you want to do is seal up the entire coop. As temps drop below freezing, water vapor from the chickens' breathing can form freezing crystals on exposed flesh and cause frostbite when air can't circulate.

Keep in mind that water vapor, freezing wind directly blowing on the chickens, and poor air circulation are the major causes of frostbite. Other than that, chickens are well equipped to endure very cold temps with not too much discomfort.