can you identify my chicks?

chase

In the Brooder
10 Years
Sep 15, 2009
hi, im completely new to chicken keeping, in fact 6 weeks ago i wasnt even aware people kept them as pets, my son told me that his friend a few doors down had some and insisted that we get some, so I looked them up on the internet & the more i read the more i wanted some to.
I got my chicks from a farm september 4th,
41240_img_1017.jpg

this is a picture from the day I got them.

41240_dsc00092.jpg

41240_dsc00090.jpg

41240_dsc00089.jpg

41240_dsc00083.jpg

sorry about there heads all being down, i found that feeding them was the only way to keep them still long enough for the pictures.
I was told that they were 1-1 half weeks old. these pictures were taken today which would make them about 4-4 half weeks, my neigbour seems to think that there a few weeks older than that, the farm is a charity run public/visitors farm so a lot of the staff are young trainee/volenters, so they may have got the age wrong?????

anyway as they couldnt tell me what breed they were (they put all the eggs together) I was hoping someone on here would be able to tell me.

41240_dsc00101.jpg

im a little concerned about how big the wattles on this one are growing, boy?? hope not, id hate to have to get rid of him/her

thanks for reading
chase

As far as what kind of breed you have, I have no idea...but I'm positive you won't have to wait long till some BYC experts start posting!!
It does look like they are all roos....Look at the feathers at the base of their tails and on the sides and if they are all pointy, then they are roos.......In your case I hope not
hmm.png

I don't know how the laws are where you live, but if you're allowed to have roosters, you can keep them all together. I have all my "extra" roos in their own coop. They don't get out as much as the layers- but then again, they don't make yummy free-range eggs either.