Can your Coop to too short?

backpack09

In the Brooder
10 Years
Mar 20, 2009
Whitman, MA
I am designing my coop. (Im an engineer so everything must be drawn 12 times before I decide what I am going to do)

I see many coops that are fairly tall 4-5'. I was thinking of going shorter.

Build the coop with outside dimensions of:
4'x4' of floor space with the roof being 2.5' tall in the front, and 2' tall in the rear.
with nest boxes hanging outside.

Will this be tall enough? roughly 1.75' of headroom in the coop? would making the whole thing a half foot taller gain me much? or should I make lean towards an entire foot taller?

Being in Mass, I want to keep the roof as low as possible to keep the birds warm when the temps dip and the storms roll in.

Make it tall enough for you to be able to get in and out with ease. You will need to clean it and there will be times you will need to get into the coop for a multitude of reasons.
You also need head room for the chickens to roost.
You will not regret it making it taller.

Build the coop with outside dimensions of:
4'x4' of floor space with the roof being 2.5' tall in the front, and 2' tall in the rear.
with nest boxes hanging outside.

Will this be tall enough? roughly 1.75' of headroom in the coop? would making the whole thing a half foot taller gain me much? or should I make lean towards an entire foot taller?

If there is no reason you HAVE to have it that short (like local building code, or making a tractor not be too tippy) then for personally I would go taller, for sure. 20" is barely enough room for a regular-sized chicken to stand up and stretch tall, and that's if it's standing on the *floor* not on a roost. Your roost will have to be just like 6" above the floor. Which is possible, but I wouldn't do it unless I *had* to.

Being in Mass, I want to keep the roof as low as possible to keep the birds warm when the temps dip and the storms roll in.