1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Cemani breeding questions.

Discussion in 'Exhibition, Genetics, & Breeding to the Standard o' started by Kionra, Jan 30, 2017.

1. Kionra

Kionra New Egg

Jan 30, 2017
    Part of the content of this is being pulled from https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...stions-part-general-faq-cemanis-silkies-other this thread that I made loaded with questions (and, while I'm approaching serious breeders, a "PLEASE BE GENTLE" explanation on there).

TLDR version: I'm new to specialties. Production chickens is one thing, specialty flock is another. And we recently came by a steal on lineaged (with papers) cemanis, as well as some silkies. So, extracting from my above thread's questions:

Preliminary question: The Silkie
    (At the risk of being shot dead by strict breeders) would it be some kind of sacrilege, in the distant future, to breed our Cemanis (? Question mark? More on them below) to our silkies for diversification of genetics in the hopes of maintaining strong melanism? Am I going to be hunted down by some sort of Cemanilluminati? What could I expect out of that in the future? (Our silkie roo is black.)

Ayam Cemani...?
    First I've read that cemanis are never really phenotypically the same as their parents, so is it possible for a Cemani to have a Kedu as a child, or something similar? I saw the parents, they're black as night, but the chicks have some white floof - or more of a powdering, mostly on the belly; and the older one that's feathering out has a lot of crazy marks on it. Is that normal? How can I tell if they're going to be true ayam cemanis? Is this some "wait and find out" kind of thing? I read something about feathering rate sometimes being an indicator? Can I get some clarification on that?