Changing local law in Dyer, IN

milamber84906

Hatching
6 Years
Apr 14, 2013
I'm very new to the idea of having chickens in my backyard, but after much research (and some encouragement by my wife) I've decided I want to pursue this. My issue is that currently my city of Dyer, Indiana doesn't allow chickens. They have lumped them in with all "farm animals". I really want to get that changed here but I'm not totally sure about what to do or even good talking points. I don't want to go in to a meeting and look like a fool! Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as well as anyone who is in my area that would want to help me support this would be amazing! Thanks for your time!

I moved to Dyer in January and my wife and I are also very interested in raising chickens. I know most of the surrounding areas like Lynnwood, Highland, and I believe St. John allow chickens. i think we just need to try and find as many supporters as possible and go before the town council and present a solid case as to why we want the chickens. I know from some research I've done and talking to people who have had chickens, the roosters are the problem as they make most of the noise. So, being clear to the council and community that it's just hens we want for either eggs, or in my case eggs and roasters, no roosters. Any way, we're willing to join in the cause here and support the law change.