Chick Questions!!!!!!

DuckiesGarden

Songster
7 Years
Nov 20, 2012
Indiana
My Coop
My Coop
Hi all! I need some advice! I have new chicks coming in a few days and I can't get any chick starter around here, the place I planned on getting it from closed down! We live out in the romulan zone and I can't get into town til wed. or thurs. What can I give them til then? Everywhere I look online says chick starter is a must. Is this discussed somewhere on here already? Also, can I use a regular lightbulb to keep them warm? I used the woodstove with my last batch with great results but it's just too warm right now to keep it fired up! Would the bulb work inbetween cool spells? I've been raising chickens for more than 5 years but feel like an idiot right now for not being better prepared for setbacks! Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated! Also, just for fun, I'm getting salmon faverolles,mottled houdans,speckled sussex,light brahmas, and rhode island reds. The reds I've had before but the others are new to me. I've researched quite a bit but would love to hear any firsthand experiences with the others! I don't get to chat chicken very often living out here so any tidbits would be lovely! Thanks!!!!!
frow.gif

what feed do you have? you could add scrambled egg to boost protien until you CAN get chick food. but get them chick food as soon as possible.

bulb should work depending on number of chicks. 95 degrees week one dropping 5 degrees each week until about 6 weeks or so

RobertH

I've got plenty of eggs! I've also got cracked corn I feed the big chickens, oatmeal, cornmeal, wheat flour... Lots of pantry items. Any of these work? I can get worms and such out of the yard too if they can have them this early. I shouldn't have waited til the last minute for the starter, I had no idea the little feed store had closed! I'm getting 26 or so chicks so maybe 2 bulbs?