Chickadee90 Introduction

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chickadee90, Jun 17, 2019.

1. Chickadee90

Chickadee90 In the Brooder

May 9, 2019
    Hi everyone!
    My name is Bethany and I am new to the Chicken world! :) I originally started out with 6 baby chicks on Easter of 2019. Unfortunately we lost one and had to re-home another. I'm not sure what happened to the first one, but they started pecking the second and I panicked and wanted her to be safe with someone who had more experience. So we are down to 4! And I LOVE them! :love
    We purchased them from Rural King, and I honestly am not sure the breed of any of them! We picked them from the assorted breed of straight runs and I'm still not even sure if all of them are hens! Someone had said they think our two larger black chicks are Jersey Giants but I have no idea! The other two may be Golden Comets, based on the research that I have done myself!
    I have absolutely fell in love with all of them! I am a stay at home mom at the moment so I have the free time to sit and hang out with them and they are very tame and friendly! They eat out of my hand, they let us pet them and pick them up, and they follow us around. It's adorable.

We originally purchased our chicks for our kids (age 4 & 7) both boys! My in-laws have chickens and the boys loved helping care for them and wanted some of their own. That soon changed once they got bored with them HAHA. I am a HUGE animal lover, and deep down I wanted them myself and just told my husband I was getting them for the boys so I could get them :lol: