Chicken Coop under pine tree

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by tracy1311, Apr 29, 2009.

1. tracy1311

tracy1311 New Egg

Apr 29, 2009
    Melbourne
    Hi Everyone

I am brand new at all this chicken raising.[​IMG] My hubby has finally said "yes" [​IMG] to raising chicken after 3 years. We have a large pine tree in our backyard and I was thinking a coop constructed around the base of the tree could be good use of space and provide the chickens with shade and protection. What do you think? I'm concerned the pine needles could be a problem? Do chickens eat pine needles?

Thanks for your help.
    Tracy [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 29, 2009
  2. NancyDz

NancyDz Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2008
    Dutch Flat, CA
    I had mine under pine trees for over a year and never had a problem, They did like scratching around in the pine needles. I moved or they would still be under the pines [​IMG]

Nancy

3. Bear Foot Farm

Bear Foot Farm Overrun With Chickens

Mar 31, 2008
    Grifton NC
    Quote:I might put one UNDER a tree, but not AROUND the tree.

Trees are NOT permanant, and building over the roots could kill it.

4. flopshot

flopshot Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 17, 2009
    Quote:i have a large pine in the middle of my run. the hard part is coming up with a way to fence the top without nailing into the tree or girdling the trunk. you should also stay back at least to the drip line with any alterations to the soil so you don't damage the feeder roots. don't build up any soil around the tree that will cover the roots more than an inch or so and be carefull of driving any posts into the larger roots.

5. jmetzger

jmetzger Out Of The Brooder

Apr 30, 2009
    Baltimore, OH