Chicken poop question

amymarie1221

Chirping
6 Years
Aug 3, 2016
Woodland, WA
Okay so I have 13 hens and I always notice a variation of poops. Most I don't worry about, but the watery ones and the runny ones worry me. I do not see any worms so I don't necessarily want to just worm them. I had been feeding lettuce and cabbage so I thought maybe the extra water was the culprit. I stopped feeding them veggie scraps and they only have layer pellets and fresh water then a waterer with crushed garlic and I'm still seeing some with watery poop. All are acting normal and eat and drinking and doing chicken things. This is my first time owning chickens, so am I just worrying for nothing? I figureded if it was something serious then they would start acting different.

There are forums on poop, what's normal, what's not.  Here are a couple links to poop charts:
http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=17568.0

http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2012/02/whats-scoop-on-chicken-poop-digestive.html
I've had chickens with watery poop that cleared up by itself and I never figured it out.   Hopefully yours will pass....( : 

Thank you. It's hard to tell if it looks similar to the normal or the abnormal. It looked kind of like an abnormal one but I don't know if her description is above or below the pic.

Last edited:
Hopefully someone with more experience will chime in on this. I have not seen worms or diseases, so I don't know. You could actually take a pic and post it later, like this evening... when.more people will be online.