Chicks introduced to big girls....chaos and....blood (!)

bobchristenson

Songster
8 Years
May 31, 2011
SE Michigan
My first introduction of chicks to chickens and its not going so great, but I've never done this before (or seen it done) so I'm not sure where the line should be. Here's the details:

1. Chicks are 5 1/2 weeks
  2. They were separated from the 'big girls' for about 5 days by only chickenwire. So they could see and be with each other that whole time
  3. Today I put them in the run with the big girls and dismatled the seperator (oops!?) so it's not easy to separate them again.
  4. It's been about 2 hours and I just saw blood on one of the chicks foot. (maybe from a peck, maybe from running into chicken wire)

Basiclaly the chicken who's been in the run the longest has been terrorizing them. Chasing them into corners, pecking pretty hard at them...etc. They found (and I created) a place they can get away (under the nest boxes) but they can't always get there..the big hen corners them and they flip out.

I've heard you let them establish everything until you see blood. Well, I saw blood...it was only a little and on a foot...do I kill the experiment?

I need help..quick! (bedtime starts around now and wondering if I leave them overnight)

My first introduction of chicks to chickens and its not going so great, but I've never done this before (or seen it done) so I'm not sure where the line should be. Here's the details:

1. Chicks are 5 1/2 weeks
  2. They were separated from the 'big girls' for about 5 days by only chickenwire. So they could see and be with each other that whole time
  3. Today I put them in the run with the big girls and dismatled the seperator (oops!?) so it's not easy to separate them again.
  4. It's been about 2 hours and I just saw blood on one of the chicks foot. (maybe from a peck, maybe from running into chicken wire)