Chicks with bald spots???

MissLavender

Songster
5 Years
Sep 21, 2018
Clarkdale, Arizona
What does this look like to you? These chicks are between 3 and 5 weeks old (staggered hatch between two broody hens). They are in an outside covered 25×15 run during the day and in a 4×4 brooder coop at night. They eat organic 18% chick crumble, plus a little handful of mealworms every couple of days. I am still relatively new to chickens (2 years in), so not quite sure what's happening here. There is no blood, and I haven't seen any of them picking at each other. About half of them look like this. I do see pin feathers coming in. Is something wrong or am I just being a hypervigilant Mom?

Attachments

• 20200711_173144.jpg
    20200711_173144.jpg
    613.5 KB · Views: 20
About half of them look like this. I do see pin feathers coming in.
I will venture to say a combination of slow growth caused by genetics first possibly coupled with what I would consider to be a low protein/amino acid diet.

I hate that they even sell 18% starter.. BUT it must be considered acceptable by law.

Most often when I see something similar to this.. no redness etc.. I do consider it genetic weakness.

4x4 brooder isn't very big for two broody's and two sets of chicks 3-5 weeks old... what breed are they and how many chicks have ya got in there total?

Are you moving them to a regular coop with other birds eventually since you describe this one as a brooder?

I will venture to say a combination of slow growth caused by genetics first possibly coupled with what I would consider to be a low protein/amino acid diet.

I hate that they even sell 18% starter.. BUT it must be considered acceptable by law.

Most often when I see something similar to this.. no redness etc.. I do consider it genetic weakness.

4x4 brooder isn't very big for two broody's and two sets of chicks 3-5 weeks old... what breed are they and how many chicks have ya got in there total?