Chooks standing in the rain?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Gazinga, Nov 2, 2008.

1. Gazinga

Gazinga Chook Norris

ok, maybe a stupid question, and already have a good idea of the answer, but i want to hear form you guys, smarter as a group and all.

I have chickens (orpingtons) that are 17 weeks old. this was the first rains they experienced last night. They just stood there and got soaked!, it didnt really seem to bother them much and when the rain got too heavy they went into the coop to retreat. When the rain slowed down, they returned to the run.
    I have provided a source of food and water both in the coop and in the run. I wouldnt worry too much exceot it is also kind of cold out too if your wet, about 40 degrees. SO.....should i worry or will they take care of themselves pretty much, or do i need to show them the way, lol......

2. jaybme

jaybme Chillin' With My Peeps

I am new to chickens as well, mine are about 4 months old. We had rain here yesterday, and my silkies did get wet. They have a covered run, but they got wet anyway, and it did not seem to bother them. The temp was higher here, about 60, so I wasn't too worried, but since their feathers pretty much disappear into little wet spikes it is certain they chill.

I tossed out some hen scratch for them and hoped for the best. They went into the coop as needed to get warm, and ended the day the regular way. Today they were all dry and ready to go again.

I think they can handle wet feathers! [​IMG]

3. momma's chickens

momma's chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2008
    Idaho
    My chickens don't mind the rain either. Over the years I have watched my different breeds and some seem smarter than others about getting under cover in the rain and some just don't care. My poor roo was out there crowing for them to come in today and they just ignored him and kept pecking at the ground!

Silly chickens! [​IMG]

4. Chickenfortress

Chickenfortress Chillin' With My Peeps