College Project help

WhitewaterCOOP

Hatching
7 Years
Nov 8, 2012
Hello chicken community!

My name is Kevin Nelsen and I am a Student at the University of Wisconsin Whitewater. I am currently doing a marketing project where my group has chosen to create a business that makes custom chicken coops for clients. We are currently in the stage of doing research and we really can't find much. I came up on this website and it has been a wealth of information for us! However, we still do not have a complete lists of ordinances that allow chickens in the state of Wisconsin. We were wondering if anyone out there could help us and if they had any information available for us to use in our business plan.

Thank you in advance!

Kevin Nelsen
Whitewater, WI

I am not in Wisconsin, but one thing to watch for that exists in our ordinance is that a building permit is required to build a coop here, and said coop and run must be shielded from view.

Chris

I don't know if any state has a breakdown of individual ordinances for coops but if you put Wisconsin in the search bar you may get threads that discuss it for certain cities or towns in WI.

I am not in Wisconsin, but one thing to watch for that exists in our ordinance is that a building permit is required to build a coop here, and said coop and run must be shielded from view.
Chris
Without trying to fan any flames of controversy, WHY do you need a permit to build a chicken coop? So you have to go downtown and basically purchase permission to build something on your own land? I don't get it. When I built my house, I asked NO ONE. Same for the shop, barn, chicken coop, etc. It's my land, my buildings....

I am going to recommend the book by Dr. Woods on Fresh Air Poultry Keeping.
Dang, I can't find my copy but goggle it.
Very helpful, has plans for small, medium and large coops.
(c) 1920's.