Columbian Rock Cross-Genetics?

Cindy in PA

Crowing
15 Years
Jul 8, 2008
Fleetwood, PA
Several hatcheries (Mt. Healthy, HealthyChicksandmore) sell a RIR/Columbian Rock Cross. They are a RIR female with CR male. I have limited knowledge of genetics from HS biology, but why do the girls show the Columbian pattern & the males are columbian with brown/red wash in places? I take it columbian is dominate also. Is this a sex linked chicken? I would think not, as they wouldn't be different enough at hatch to be easy to tell. Has anyone ever had these chickens? They are supposed to be good egg layers & docile chickens. Why doesn't someone just sell a hatchery Columbian Rock? If anyone has ever had them, what is the size like? Thanks.

Going by Kip's chicken calculator when you cross a Columbian rooster to a RIR hen you should get.
Females - black patterned red shoulder red/cream columbian
Males - black patterned yellow/golden columbian

There can be some color variations.
I would say the males an females will definitely be Columbian pattern because the Columbian Rock and the Rhode Island Red carry the Columbian Gene. The RIR is just a Columbian Red.

Chris

Last edited:
Quote:
So when they state that the female is an all black & white columbian pattern you are saying that isn't so?? That would make sense. I couldn't figure out why only the male would be washed with cream/red. So the pullet would also have to have some off coloring? I had no idea that a RIR had a columbian gene. Thanks.

Cindy:
This is a Quote from Mt. Healthy Hatchery.

Columbian Rock Cross Chickens