Confused Newbie with 2 main questions please.

NewChickHere

Chirping
8 Years
Jan 11, 2012
The beautiful coast of NC
Hi. I am brand new to chickens. So new I haven't even gotten them yet. :) We get 27 chicks in one week and we are all so excited and feel ready, pretty much. The brooder is ready but we are building the coop right now. Trying to anyway. lol.

I am a reader/researcher so I LOVE these forums and have gotten so much wonderful information from here. I also have 8 library books and 2 that I have bought. But, with all this information, some confusion can get in as I am noticing peoples opinions and feelings vary a great deal regarding some things for their precious feathery family members. I totally get that and will be that way myself soon. I know some stagger the roost heights while some are against that because it kind of encourages the less popular girls to always have to roost lower and maybe get a complex.
hmm.png

Well, as my husband and I are at the kitchen table right now we are trying to figure out the nest boxes. He has been reading too so we are coming at each other with different view points from what we have heard. haha. He said he heard the nest boxes should be raised and 14x14x14. Now, as much as I agree with giving the girls as much happiness as possible, we are looking at our space available and making sure the roosts are higher than the nest. SO......I have read that we could actually have the bottom 4 nests on the ground and they could be 12x12x12. Which would help tremendously and we could set the roosts at 3' no problem. I know there is a lot of talk about the roost height too, like 3' or 4' or 5'. Some say 5' is great, their ladies love the height, but some say they can break an egg internally jumping down.
hit.gif
I tell you, it's a lot for a new person to take in. lol.