Coop maintenance

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Carly Avgeris, Feb 7, 2015.

1. Carly Avgeris

Carly Avgeris Out Of The Brooder

Jan 28, 2015
    kane county Illinois
    Hi all,
    I am a little confused on how often and what exactly entails coop cleaning.( Also, feel free to list your favorite cleaning products. I am thinking vinegar and E.O's.) Which things should be done daily, weekly, monthly, ect? Our chicks are still in the brooder right now and we change the shavings every other day, but once we move them into the coop, it will be a much larger area. We have straw to put down once they transition. Thanks in advance, I am still learning as I go and have MUCH to learn!!!

2. munchkin123

munchkin123 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 13, 2014
    Hi!

When I clean the chicken coop, all I need do do is use a hoe to clean out the waste and carry it away in a wheelbarrow. If the nesting area gets dirty, jut scoop out the hay and put in new hay. We do not need to use vinegar, but if you think it is best to wipe it down, I don't think it will hurt anything. We have 18 chickens and clean it out every Saturday, but if your coop gets dirty quicker, you may have to clean it out more.

3. PirocaKeeper

PirocaKeeper Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2014
    Western Massachussetts
    Coop cleaning may mean many different things to different people, so you may get all kinds of good sound advice on this subject.
    Basically, depending on the number of chicks you have and the size of your coop, would most likely indicate to you how much and how often does your coop need cleaning. The more chickens you have, the more often you need to clean. Basically you don't want your chickens to be stepping over a layer of excrement or urine. Let me give you an example of what I do, this may or may not work for you as I said based on your personal situation.

I have 2 coops (one large coop with 8 nesting boxes and one smaller with 6 nests).