coop question???

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by peggymamma, Mar 16, 2015.

1. peggymamma

peggymamma New Egg

Mar 16, 2015
    Good morning! I've been raising kiddos all my life, but I'm a newbie with chickens. My girls are nearly a year old and are doing great in what's basically a covered run. However, We've recently moved to the country so now we can build them something permanent.
    we want to let them free range for sure, but with a small run for when we're not at home.
    we're looking at coop designs and wondering why some are raised off the ground and some are not. Can someone educate me on the benefits of each design, please????
    Thanks so much. I need lots of guidance. :)

2. Chicken Girl1

Chicken Girl1 November....... my favorite month Premium Member

Mar 3, 2015
    Virginia
    Hello [​IMG]and Welcome to BYC![​IMG]
    Glad to have you join! Feel free to make yourself at home! I have had both types of coops and at the moment I have one off the ground because I had raccoon's and snakes dig under the coop and get some hens, so it's harder to get in.

Last edited: Mar 16, 2015
    1 person likes this.
  3. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    I would not change the basic structure of what you have been using. I'[m guessing you live in a temperate or warm zone (Where you live has a lot to do with which structure is best.) In most climates, chickens can actually survive with no buildings, although they certainly behave as if they like to get in out of heavier rain or snow, and in the summer, breee and shade are a ecessity. But coops are mostly designed to keep them safe from predators -- which you may prefer to do with hardware cloth rather than solid walls. They are much more tolerand ot cold than heat.