Crowing? already? Do I have a chicken prodigy on my hands?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by JAK Rabbitry, Sep 15, 2010.

1. JAK Rabbitry

JAK Rabbitry Chillin' With My Peeps

So for the past week I thought the pitiful crowing was coming from a stall that has a couple 3-4 month old roosters in them.
    Though yesterday, I'm feeding the chickens in the brooder....and it turns out here be the source!
    This is my first time raising Jersey Giant so I didn't know if it was unusual for them to start crowing so early.... they are 8 weeks and 2 days old today. I thought they matured slower due to their size, actually. But before you ask...definitely a crow. Pitiful to say the least.... that squawking unsure.... "Er.....ERRR????" And he responds to the big roosters crowing outside the barn.

So....genius chicken or is this normal?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
  2. Matt A NC

Matt A NC Overrun With Chickens

Feb 22, 2007
    Morganton, NC
    Normal. Hearing another Rooster will get them going early. Thought 2 months is not really early.

My last run of chicks set a record here. I had an Ameraucana or a Maran start crowing(squeek with intention) at 3 DAYS OLD! Sounded like the little thing was choking to death.

Matt

3. pgpoultry

pgpoultry Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2009
    Wales
    Well my Brahma boys are really retarded....they didn't start until over 6 months! (for which I am grateful).

Those Jersey Giants really do start to sing early.

Sandie

4. JAK Rabbitry

JAK Rabbitry Chillin' With My Peeps

Ah! Thanks for all the info. We bought 100+ chicks of various breeds this year and none of them started crowing until they a good couple months old, so I was a bt astounded to see this guy crowing already!
    Thanks again.

-JAK

5. Tomhusker

Tomhusker Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2010
    Hamburg, Iowa
    My BR was 13 weeks. I have a Lavender Orpington at 13 weeks that has not crowed.

6. gritsar