Crusty crusty chicken nostril help!

stray chickens

Hatching
9 Years
May 18, 2010
I am VERY new to chickens... I have a chicken that had a huge (like 2 MM by 1 MM) mass of crusty stuff in her left nostril. (I had a stray cat that had kittens so I didn't look her over really well the last few days... just made sure she had clean water and food as she's been recooperating from lethargy and what I now think is bumblefoot from looking in this forum... in my "hospital ward" in the garage.) I saw the mass sticking out of her nostril and put a towel over her eyes and removed it. Now her nostril is HUGE! It didn't seem to hurt and she just looked at me but it was massive and a little yellow drainage from the end sicking in her nose. I looked at the other side and there is a smaller one there too but she wouldn't let me near that one. I put some water down and she drank but I don't know what to do. I rescued these chickens when a neighbor moved off and left a hen with a bunch of chicks in a hen box nailed to the side of his house. So I really know nothing about them. Another one of her house mates is suffering from lethargy too... but seems to be able to stand now and will peck at food. Her nostrils seem a little blocked but I don't know how to clean them. Can someone help me?

Hi!