Curious... Why do Pheasants, Chukars, etc. require....

1hawaiian

Chirping
12 Years
Jan 3, 2012
Why do Game Birds such as pheasants, chukars, etc. require higher protein feed than chickens?

I'm new to raising chickens for home egg-consumption but was just curious...

I live in a rural area where these wild game birds thrive in abundance. They are frequent visitors in my backyard and have watched them foraging daily for grasses/weeds, insects, and bugs.

I would think chickens would require and benefit from the same amount of protein levels as a WILD game bird if given the same chance to free-range...I dunno know just curious?
idunno.gif

What are your thoughts?

Thank you

This is just my thoughts on the issue of more protien needed for game birds....... First of all, pheasants are spooked much easier than chickens. They need more energy to take flight at any sign of trouble. Thus, more protien is needed to store this needed energy. Since chickens are slower and usually run rather than flying, they do not need to store much energy and would require less protien. Game birds are more prone to predators since they do not have the comforts of a coop to hide in. A chicken in the same situation as a pheasant would become an easy meal for any predator.

This is just my thoughts on the issue of more protien needed for game birds....... First of all, pheasants are spooked much easier than chickens. They need more energy to take flight at any sign of trouble. Thus, more protien is needed to store this needed energy. Since chickens are slower and usually run rather than flying, they do not need to store much energy and would require less protien. Game birds are more prone to predators since they do not have the comforts of a coop to hide in. A chicken in the same situation as a pheasant would become an easy meal for any predator.