day old chicks vs. ready to lay hens

mandierae

Hatching
8 Years
May 13, 2011
Hello all! My name is mandie and I am new here. I am also new to the world of chickens. I used to help my grandma collect eggs when I was very small but that is the extent of my experience. I want a small flock of 6 or 7 hens and no roosters. I came across this site and have literally spent hours researching everything chicken. After looking through the breeds page I have decided I want either the Plymouth Rock or the Rhode Island red. What I cannot decide is if I should buy day old chicks or ready to lay hens. Is it harder for older hens to adjust to a new environment? or does age matter?

well according to chicken math, chicks dont count as chickens, so you have to get 6 or 7 laying hens, then you can also raise some babies. Its addictive. I was gonna get 4 or 5, then 10, wound up with 13 and thinking about what I'm going to add next.

welcome-byc.gif

Yes indeedy - chickens are addictive, whether you start with babies or not. If you start with chicks you have the fun of little fluffies, but a fair amount of work and a wait for eggs. Biggest up-side for me with chicks is that there is very little chance you're going to import any major disease or parasite problem, since the chicks won't have been exposed to much. If you start with laying hens you get instant gratification egg-wise, but you do have to be more careful about health issues since you may not be sure what those hens have been exposed to before you get them. But either way chickens are a whole lotta fun - good luck with yours!

^^ ditto to the above...