Defending livestock with a firearm

jgconnor

In the Brooder
9 Years
Sep 26, 2010
Blue Ridge Mountains of VA.
I am a nationally certified firearms instructor and I teach many courses, including "In Home Self Defense". I certainly understand that defending livestock against predation is very different from defending yourself and your family from intrusion and/or assault.

Some principles applied to self defense, however, can be applied to defending your animals. If I may, I'd like to share some techniques and tactics on how to deal with a predator using a firearm.

1- DO NOT TELEGRAPH!
"Telegraphing" is the display or communication to the adversary of your presence and/or intentions. When your adversary becomes aware of you and your intention to confront, you immediately loose your advantage of the element of surprise. This is critical when dealing with predators because animals do not have the ability to reason. When a predator becomes aware of the presence of what they instinctively know as a threat, they react in defense by running to escape.

2- BE PREPARED BEFORE IT HAPPENS!
If you decide to use deadly force to protect your livestock, be prepared to do so with very little time to react. When you become aware of an attack, you may have only seconds to react. You will NOT have time to look for your gun.

3- DEVELOP A PLAN
Find a place in your home to stage a firearm where you will be able to get to it in short order. Hold a meeting with all residents of the household, communicate your plan to all concerned and BE ABSOLUTELY SURE that EVERYONE completely understands the plan. If there are children in the home that are too young to understand the dangers of improperly handled firearms, BY ALL MEANS, take this into account concerning your plan and deal with this accordingly. If you are unsure of how to do this, contact me by email or my website and I will do my best to assist you in developing a plan. SAFETY WITH FIREARMS IS ABSOLUTELY CRITICAL!!

CHOICE OF FIREARM