diatomaceous earth

So do you have these beliefs about using food grade DE (orally) in regards to chickens alone or in general? I did notice during my chicken research that most are one end of the spectrum or the other. I use it for myself & dogs since I only use drugs & chemicals if essential, such as emergencies. It has proven iteself effective for preventing and killing insects (w/exoskeleton) for 15 years in FL- fleas, roaches, ants etc... I have learned more is not better!
I am new to chickens & know birds are super sensitive in many respects compared to us. I do add a small amount to the chicken feed.
I don't believe it has any effect orally. It just doesn't make sense that it would. First, there's no evidence to support its use. In research, most often studies which fail to prove a point are not published, so a lack of evidence either means 1) it hasn't been researched or 2) it was researched, and fell short of substantiated results. However, also bear in mind that parasitic infections are not so common in commercial flocks because they are biologically contained and indoors. Risk of infection is quite low. Most research is sponsored by the commercial industry, and if it's not a problem it's not researched.

In addition, DE once wet doesn't damage insects and pests when it's in a normal environment, therefore it wouldn't work in a digestive tract either. The only reason DE is occasionally used in feed is as an anti-caking agent.

I have used DE myself around the house to ward of various pests. I can't say it was effective for stink bugs or lady bugs in the slightest, but just because other pests weren't a problem, doesn't mean DE was the solution. I haven't used DE in years though and have had no changes in the types of pests that I see.