Discouraging broody behavior

HeidiHeb

Hatching
Apr 4, 2016
Hi, I'm new to hens and new to this forum. We have 4 ladies who were POL when we brought them home before Easter, and one has spent the last 2 days in the nesting box. She is the bottom of the pecking order a bit thin I noticed when I picked her up a couple of days ago, so I'd much rather she was out with the others scratching about in the grass and eating her layers pellets. NNever mind that we have no Roo so hatching chicks is out of the question.

I've been collecting the eggs under her, and she still stays put. Can I lift her out of the nesting box? Can I keep lifting her out of the nesting box? Can I close off the coop once they've all laid so she has to stay out with the others for the afternoons? (We have an Omlet Cube which is "up", a large tarp over the covered wire enclosure part for sun/rain/wind protection, surrounded by a 50m electric poultry netting enclosure, all grass underfoot.)

I look forward to your advice xx

She could be broody, she could be sick, or she could be hiding from the other hens. If you take her out does she puff up and cluck with occasional screeching? Than she's probably broody. If she runs right back in without walking about clucking she could be hiding. If she doesn't move much she could be sick. So first you need to determine what's going on, blocking the nestboxes is fine for broodiness, sometimes it's enough to break them.