Do Black Vultures take Chickens? HELP!

chikinwing

In the Brooder
10 Years
Jun 30, 2009
I am so angry and frustrated because in the past month something has been taking my chickens. I have just lost 3 more today. They have a run and coop, but I have been letting them free range due to the extreme heat. I have not seen a fox, racoon, skunk, nor possum at all. The chickens just disappeared, sometimes a feather or two is found but that's it (poof) there gone! Today my chickens were hanging out under the trailer to keep cool but when I looked 2 of my hens and 1 pullet was gone. I heard something in a tree nearby and I looked up and there was a HUGE black vulture low in the tree. I went to look closer at it and it flew away to a neighbors nearby roof. There is an over abundance of these vultures living in my area of Virginia and I know they are responsible for killing newborn calves. Will they kill chickens?
barnie.gif
somad.gif

I'm no predator expert but if you aren't finding feathers I would think it's more of a ground predator that's snatching them. I wouldn't put it past a vulture to take a live meal but I don't know that they have the ability to strike from the air like a hawk or to take a full grown bird away with them. If it had been a vulture I would think there would be piles of feathers. Just my two cents.

you are entirely correct chikenwing, buzzards will kill new-born calves, if their mother isn't there to get them off it. i've had a good many buzzards flying above the house last fall, [ during deer season, i live in rural MS] but they never offered to bother my chickens in the yard. i have wondered this same thing myself,, hope for a knowledgeable reply to this.

I think I would suspect a different predator as well so keep an open mind as it is very rare a vulture will catch and kill live prey, disabled animal perhaps, but not healthy in my experience.