Do Hens have Beards

Olive

In the Brooder
12 Years
Mar 24, 2007
Cedar Rapids, Ia
This is my first time having turkeys. I feel stupid asking this, but do hens have beards? I have a bourbon red turkey and we yet to figure out if it a tom or a hen. One thing is I have heard it gobble, but it has been a long time since it has done that. Two, is it's neck isn't anything like our other turkey, who we know is a tom. They are exactly the same age. The turkey fans it's feathers alittle, but nothing like the tom. He is always gobbling. I looked at the feathers and they are trimmed in black on the front breast. It's snood is short. But this turkey has a black beard, so can hens have beards?
hu.gif

thanks
Mary

A turkey hen can get a beard, but it is typically very straggly and thin in comparison to the thick tom beard. I can tell you that if you've heard a gobble, it is undoubtedly a boy. Hens cannot gobble at all.

Jody

All three of our hens have very tiny beards and one of our Royal Palm hens tends to puff up and display all the time. If she didn't lay eggs we'd think she was a tom. We noticed that our hens have a teeny tiny snood that never extends, so that's probably your best bet for figuring out the gender. Also, our hens never gobble - they're content to chirp, trill and make other nifty sounds.

I hope that helps.

The beard isn't very big and the snood is small. I have never seen it get long like our other turkey. The turkeys are almost 8 months old. It hasn't laid any eggs At what age do they start laying eggs?

Mary

Oh yes hens can get beards! I have been raising all diffrent kinds of turkeys for 10 years now and just love them:D