1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Do I need to bury fence if my chickens will be locked up at night?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by texandziggy, May 25, 2010.

1. texandziggy

texandziggy New Egg

May 16, 2010
    So I'm currently working out the details on a coop and run for 15 bantam chicks that are a week old. I'm building a very secure (I'm a carpenter and pretty much over-build everything) coop that they will be in locked into every night, so they will only be out in the run during the day. I will be using hardware cloth for the sides and also for the top.

My question is, with my chickens locked up in the coop at night, do I really need to bury the fence or have an apron to deter daytime predators? We have weasels, skunks, racoons, and foxes in the area, but they are all primarily nocturnal creatures. I know people in the area who don't have a buried fence, lock their chickens up at night, and have never had a problem. Have they just been lucky and you really do need to bury fencing for a run that is only used during the daytime, or is it not necessary?

Last edited: May 25, 2010
  2. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    If it was me, I'd go ahead and put an apron around the run. It's not that hard to do (no digging), and then you'll have protection against the digging predator problem. What if you're late coming home one night (or forget) to lock your chickens inside the coop?

3. schellie69

schellie69 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 8, 2009
    Kansas