Do Polish hens sing the egg song?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by poipollo, Feb 16, 2012.

1. poipollo

poipollo Out Of The Brooder

Feb 16, 2012
    Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to chicken keeping (got my first chicks in June of '11) and I recently had to rehome my RIR and Silver Lakenvelder because they made tons of noise, especially early in the morning. I hated to do this as I loved the chickens very much, but I live in the city with neighbors on both sides and behind me, so I can't have chickens screaming at 6 am. I didn't realize they were so loud!

I'm down to a Barred Rock and a White Crested Blue Polish. The Barred Rock is very noisy after laying, but the polish never seems to make a peep - just a weird growling/moaning sound that is quite tolerable. It's the egg song that drives some of my neighbors crazy. I can't seem to find much info online about this, so I was wondering if anyone has experience with Polish Hens? Do none of them sing the egg song (please oh please! lol) or is it just mine? I'd love to get a few more chickens, but I don't want to have to rehome them again if they become too noisy (it was so sad! i miss them), so I was wondering if the Polish Hens are quieter than the rest. If they are, they are the chicken for me!

Thanks for any info.

Last edited: Feb 16, 2012
  2. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Hello! I have a Polish bantam hen and she does make the egg song. She's the boss of the flock though, so I wonder if that makes the difference.

3. poipollo

Feb 16, 2012
    oooooh nooooooo! hahahaha. maybe it's because she's a bantam? i've heard they're noisy. (this is just me, still holding out hope that polish hens are quiet).

4. PtldChick

PtldChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2011
    Portland, OR