Do Roos just not like some people?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by elizabethbinary, Jan 31, 2011.

1. elizabethbinary

elizabethbinary Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2010
    Brisbane, Australia
    So this is my first time having a pet roo. My husband HATES him. I like him. He's sweet to me. He leans into my chest when I pick him up to take him outside and he's really easy for me to catch - he doesn't really run away from me fast. Apparently, though, he tries to absolutely MURDER my husband. I have not seen this, I think he exagerrates. I think my roo scratched him once. [​IMG]

Anyway, it had me thinking. Do roos just sometimes hate people? Maybe it's because I'm a bright-redhead and the roo just goes, "Now that's a COMB!" and doesn't bother me??

(Psst this means I'm asking for funny rooster hatred stories)

Last edited: Jan 31, 2011
  2. Jesseschickens

Jesseschickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 4, 2010
    somewhere in Pa
    My rhode island red hated my sister he would chase her around the yard and stare her down I am only 12 and he never pecked me unless i touched his tail feathers. He knows your husband doesnt like him and roo is being territorial

3. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    My boys often know who like them and who don't. None are mean, but yes, they're very skittish and shy about some of my family members who obviously don't care about chickens, much less, roosters, but sometimes try and approach them. The boys run off.

To me though, they're very sweet. [​IMG]

4. Jesseschickens

Jesseschickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 4, 2010
    somewhere in Pa
    Quote:Well at least yours do that my 20 pound 2 ft tall rooster wouldnt move you had to walk around him but he wasnt ever mean

5. Pinky

Pinky Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 15, 2008
    South GA