do your first time layers in September lay through winter?

Areyoucluckingme

Chirping
Jun 14, 2022
This is my first time having pullets that have started laying in September. I'm curious if they usually lay through winter since they just started? I live in very northern US (almost to Canada) where it gets really cold at night in winter (-20 F) . My last set of chicks I GOT in September as babies and they started laying in January which I was really pleased with (they had hit 5 months) because it was still dead of winter. My seasoned gals all take a 2 to 3 month break in winter so I'm hoping for a light supply of eggs through winter....tell me your experience!

they should…but, I’ve had the experience when it’s so overcast for a long period of time, that they stop laying -and we have supplemental light in the coop, although we only have it on in the morning bc usually daylight is bright enough by afternoon and they go to roost at sundown. But, we’ve had fall new layers that will stop.

My first set I used supplemental lighting to keep up laying . The next set we're young 9 month old girls and kept laying somewhat. I think it depends on protein levels in feed, breeds, and hours of lighting. I feel it's nice to give them a break in winter but some will molt and take their own break.

This is my first time having pullets that have started laying in September. I'm curious if they usually lay through winter since they just started? I live in very northern US (almost to Canada) where it gets really cold at night in winter (-20 F) . My last set of chicks I GOT in September as babies and they started laying in January which I was really pleased with (they had hit 5 months) because it was still dead of winter. My seasoned gals all take a 2 to 3 month break in winter so I'm hoping for a light supply of eggs through winter....tell me your experience!
They should but may depend somewhat on the breed.