Does vaseline work to prevent frostbite on combs?

I'm not an expert by any means but my three Buff O's stayed out all last winter in thier coop with no heat (but it is draft free) and they did fine, its 9 degrees here today....

Whew! I just went out there and turned on the heat lamp for a little warmth for them. It's probably just me being a worry wart again. I just woke them all up and boy are they complaining! I have a thermometer in there, I'm curious if it'll read a little higher after the heat lamp has been on for awhile.

Our coop is old so may not be draft free but it's definitely protection for them.

Thanks for the reply! Where are you located?

Nah, that's about right, I live in Orange County, and the temp was 15 degrees in the coop - I haven't put any vaseline on their combs, since I read in the Chicken for Dummies that it doesnt' really do anything except attract dust - they seem OK without it so far and nobody is missing any body parts - yet

I've been using it and it seems to be helping. My neighbor scoffed at me and since she has an insulated coop (mine isn't) she didn't feel the need to use it. This morning when I went out to help with goats, she said "Oh, Sam's OK." ?? "He got frostbite so bad last night that his comb and one wattle split and the hens have it too though not as bad."

My hens actually are starting to look forward to it since the vaseline is warm and they get to spend a minute getting cuddled and rubbed.

Yes, the heads will be goopy and turn black from dust (scared DH, he thought it was all frostbite, but I had to show him that it was dirt and could be rubbed off) but between closing the pop door and lubing the chickens up during the day (in the teens here with an even colder windchill), mine are doing fine.

Just noticed one of our littlest pullets with what may be frostbite on the very tip of her comb. Vaseline it is on all gals. They actually were very good about it. Sooo cute! Hope it helps. How often do you do it?