dog kennel?

tarutgers

Chirping
6 Years
Feb 16, 2013
Minnesota
Hello everyone...newbie here :)
We purchased a small three acre property a couple months ago. My husband and I both grew up on farms, one dairy and one grain. We are so excited our 10 year old will get to experience country life. The property has a nice large barn with a loft which was completely retinned in 2009 and is in fair shape inside with a nice concrete floor. One of the "doorways" of barn was made into a indoor outdoor dog kennel with kennel panels inside sitting on concrete floor and kennel panels buried around concrete slab outside. Inside kennel has wooden dog house I thought maybe could be taken out and used as separate brood house. Two questions: Health issues from dogs? Do I need bedding on floor?

Hello everyone...newbie here :)
We purchased a small three acre property a couple months ago. My husband and I both grew up on farms, one dairy and one grain. We are so excited our 10 year old will get to experience country life. The property has a nice large barn with a loft which was completely retinned in 2009 and is in fair shape inside with a nice concrete floor. One of the "doorways" of barn was made into a indoor outdoor dog kennel with kennel panels inside sitting on concrete floor and kennel panels buried around concrete slab outside. Inside kennel has wooden dog house I thought maybe could be taken out and used as separate brood house. Two questions: Health issues from dogs? Do I need bedding on floor?
bedding on floor is a must. I doubt the dog will give them problems

I bought I dog kennel for my chickens' run area. Yes, I definitely would put bedding down. The dog shouldn't cause them problems, but just in case, I would maybe disinfect with poultry-safe disinfectant.