Drop in Egg Production

Oldallamerican

Chirping
7 Years
Aug 27, 2015
I have a problem that has me stumped and I’m reaching out to see if there are any ideas. I’ve been doing backyard chickens for about five years now. I started out with a dozen girls and over time am now nearing 90. Yep, chicken math. That, and the fact a lot of folks were wanting to buy eggs from us and we were trying to keep up with demand. We never considered this a business, our chickens are pets – but if they lay eggs and selling a few can offset feed costs…

This is going to run long but I’m trying to give as much information as I see as relevant because I’m stumped and perhaps someone has encountered this problem or knows something I’ve missed.

Over the last summer (2019) I’ve been having problems with my egg count. We had about fifty girls laying in May and were averaging 24 -28 eggs a day. I figured that was pretty good as we had some older girls (about 8 from Feb and Jun 2015) and I knew they’d be slacking off. The rest of our girls averaged from about three years old to about twenty I brought in last year to replace a gang I caught eating eggs in the Summer of 2017. Everything was going fine.

At the end of February I hatched out some Easter Egger chicks from some roosters I’d gotten the previous Summer and bred with my hens. I ended up with about five hens from that hatch. I’ve since given the roosters to folks who wanted them (that was back in May).

The change came when my wife and I left for about two weeks on a road trip to Arizona, leaving my girls in the care of our neighbor’s daughter, who also raise chickens. She’s about as good with our chicks as we are. While we were gone we had two chickens come down ill – one we’d had problems with being egg-bound. We had nursed her back to health and it looked like she was back in action – but she still had problems with soft egg shells.