Dry Incubation Humidity Levels

dreamer5577

Songster
10 Years
May 16, 2011
Pennsylvania
I have searched and couldn't find a straight answer.

I currently have 3 hydrometers and 4 thermometers in the incubator at day 5 in a forced air environment. All have been calibrated and when not in the incubator, the hydrometers all read the same (a miracle!) For the past three days though the hydrometers are reading differently! Two of them (identical) are reading 16% and the other is reading 40%. I IDEALLY want to keep it at 35% for dry incubation. THEN when I take them back out to the room...they read the same again. How do I know which to believe?

If you do dry incubation, what percentage do you keep it for the first 18 days?

Also, what advice do you have for me here with the wacky hydrometers!?

Last edited:
Are they far apart that could be the problem one at the top middle and floor may read differently but I'm a novice so just an idea. also they probably wouldn't read the same if one was closer to the heating element. If they are stick them all together where the eggs are and see what happens

Last edited:
Would that be true even for a forced air?

I've just started out myself and I'm using forced air and get the same readings throughout as the air is circulated and any difference is very small because the air is constantly circulated but that's why I went with forced air because warm air rises so it would be warmer near the heating element and the top of the incubator but if its constantly circulated it is forced around the incubator. I think its the same for humidity but you may get higher readings at floor level and lower readings near the heating element if its not forced if I'm right as moist air would sink to the floor of the incubator as its heavier than dry air and the heat would dry the air at the heat source. I built my own and just added an old PC fan and rigged it to an old mobile phone charger

Last edited: