Duck incubation?

mbearrentine

In the Brooder
Apr 24, 2023
This is my first time incubating duck eggs. We are on day 6. 16 eggs we found in a cold nest. I didn’t have very much hope for them, but peeked and so far there’s 9 I see growing, the rest just look clear with yolk. I’m leaving them until maybe Saturday or Sunday to check again. I know lockdown should be day 25/26, but is misting and cooling starting halfway a must? Also, when they hatch do you leave all ducklings in until they’re all out, or is it okay to take them out when dry? Mama duck gave up the last clutch halfway through. Really any tips you have for me I would be extremely grateful😊

This is my first time incubating duck eggs. We are on day 6. 16 eggs we found in a cold nest. I didn’t have very much hope for them, but peeked and so far there’s 9 I see growing, the rest just look clear with yolk. I’m leaving them until maybe Saturday or Sunday to check again. I know lockdown should be day 25/26, but is misting and cooling starting halfway a must? Also, when they hatch do you leave all ducklings in until they’re all out, or is it okay to take them out when dry? Mama duck gave up the last clutch halfway through. Really any tips you have for me I would be extremely grateful😊
@New duck mommy 2021 has a lot of experience with duck eggs

You can take it out when dried. The duck will be fine in there for 24-48hrs. It is the same as chicken. If you remove the young duck, just wet a warm towel and toss in the corner quick that good enough. Don't open the lid too long and often it will effect the unhatching eggs.

Any eggs that are clear at this stage I would just remove
It’s not worth one exploding and risking the hatch
Day 25 is the books ideal day
I myself shoot for that day but really I follow my eggs
I candle daily
The 3 things I look for to start lockdown are