Duckling size/age and integration?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by tweetysvoice, Mar 9, 2012.

1. tweetysvoice

tweetysvoice Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2011
    Lawrence, KS
    My Coop
    Because I'm new to ducks and have a husband that insisted on getting a couple more new ducks tonight, we now have four ducklings. Two of them are Pekings and are about 2 weeks old. The newest two (one a black runner and one a Rouen) are just about 4 days old. The Pekings are twice the size of the newbies so we set up a separate brooder for the time being. How much of a difference in age is too much to integrate the four ducks together? I'd love to keep the four of them together in the super-sized dog kennel for this next month.

Here are pics, cuz I know ya'll love pics :)
    This is Daffy:
    [​IMG]
    This is Goose: (We couldn't think of a name for him/her and my DH said: "Well, we have a duck, duck, duck, goose" so that's how she got her name..hehe)
    [​IMG]

And Quackers and Ducky:
    [​IMG]

2. tweetysvoice

Dec 30, 2011
    Lawrence, KS
    My Coop
    okay, so reading more threads.. maybe Daffy isn't a runner (it was a mixed bin).. maybe he/she is a Cayuga...

3. IsbelAcresTN

IsbelAcresTN Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2012
    Cute Cute!!! I would keep the newbies in a seperate brooder for the next week, to allow them to gain a bit more size (they grow fast). After that you should be able to put them all together as long as they have enough room to spread out and there is a place for the smaller ones to have a heat source. We hatched some ducks a few weeks apart and they did fine with this method. We had 8 ducklings total on an 8x8 pen with a brooder lamp suspended over the center. The youngsters stayed under the light, while the older ones ventured out around the box. Now they are running together with no problems :)

4. IsbelAcresTN

Mar 2, 2012
    And PS: you are right about Daffy, def. a cayuga. They are some of my favorites. Those and East Indies.