Ducklings mysteriously dying?

hannnnnah

In the Brooder
Mar 12, 2023
Hi. This is my first time raising ducks, so please feel free to offer up any info if I’ve gotten something wrong.

I just went to check on my brooder after taking a nap and two of my ducklings were dead. They are about 2.5 weeks old, but the two that had passed were about half of the size of my other ducklings. They have a constant supply of water and feed (unmedicated starter duckling, 22% protein). I add about 1 tablespoon of nutritional yeast and a handful of crushed, dry oats into their food; also, they have soft peas in water as a treat. The ducks also have a constant heat source and the brooder is kept at ~85°F. I clean the bedding out daily and deep clean the brooder every couple of days. The brooder is predator proof and is locked inside the garage…

Have I done anything wrong? I’m really devastated that two of my babies passed and I feel at fault. Please let me know if I should change something to help the rest survive.

Also, I would like to note that I had only been asleep for about an hour… I had just given them fresh water and checked the temperature before laying down.

:welcome
I am so sorry to hear you lost 2 of your ducklings. It sounds like your taking good care of them. Only thing I can see is the temp is too high, at the beginning when just hatched the temp should be around 85 at one end of the brooder and cool space at the other end. so at 2.5 weeks old, the ideal temp should be between 75-80 but closer to 75 so your dropping the heat at 5* each week. And no need to add oats to their feed. [glad to see you are using Nutritional yeast]They need all nutrients that the duckling starter has in it and doesn't need to be diluted with oats. For years before I went to NON GMO feed I used Purina flock raiser for my birds from hatch till end of life [crumble at beginning] and at 20% protein and never had a problem with Angel wing. [the main reason many add oats to their birds feed]