So I don’t have one, but I was thinking of buying an instant pot. So do you put water in to cover eggs at room temperature and cook for a specific time?
They're steamed, just a little bit of water on the bottom, steam up to three minutes if you want hard boiled. Amy and Jackie site has tested instant pot recipes.

I'm not sure how long to steam on stovetop. I usually shock mine in ice water after they're done cooking.

Good afternoon! I decided to hard boil several dozen of fresh eggs for a Easter Breakfast.
I have never done this before- so I was hoping people here would share their tips. 😊 🐣
I did buy an egg cooker- but wasn’t sure if I should use that or go by boiling. I do need to refrigerate them after coloring- so hoping they peel okay!
Thanks so much! I have to make 5 dozen !
Otherwise I might do random experiments- 🤣
I just finished 3 experiments! One steamed on stove top for 15 min. The egg cracked.
Then I boiled water with plain vinager about 1 T. Added eggs in with a spoon in boiling water. Boiled for 5 minutes turned off the water- let sit for 20 minutes. Removed and let cool. No ice bath.
Turned out perfect!
3) I tried with plain water- same method above. Water didn’t cover egg- egg cracked.
All tasted delicious!
I am thinking the rice steamer must be amazing because the stove top not so much.

Thanks for sharing- I did find one method that will work! Mission accomplished!
I did use eggs over a week old.

The cracked egg was a fresh one- so maybe that steamer would of worked with older eggs?

I do have a plan! I will buy white eggs and do 2.5 dozen each for church on Easter!
Thank you for all your tips!
When I have doubts I always go to the chicken experts!

They're steamed, just a little bit of water on the bottom, steam up to three minutes if you want hard boiled. Amy and Jackie site has tested instant pot recipes.

I'm not sure how long to steam on stovetop. I usually shock mine in ice water after they're done cooking.