Egg bound or stressed?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by MyrtleTurtle, Dec 15, 2012.

1. MyrtleTurtle

MyrtleTurtle New Egg

Dec 14, 2012
    High Point, NC
    Hello everyone! I'm a newbie and have had a backyard flock of 5 for just over a week. It's been so much fun and so rewarding.

When we brought them home, we were told they were all laying, but because of the move, we could expect about a week with no eggs. A week has come and gone and I've spent alot of time with my girls making them comfortable (bribing them with treats and 4 of the 5 are hand "feed-able"). I've given them a good look over and have been working to get them comfortable with being held to check their eyes, nose, feet, etc with great success.

I palpated them today since they've passed the time frame the original owners gave and can feel an egg in about 3 of their bellies. Normally I would wait it out, I'm in no hurry yet, but when checking them out today i noticed a crusty bit of yellow on one's vent. I added probiotics to their water in case of yeast but of course google has gotten me worried maybe shes egg bound or an egg has broken in her.

I'm a worry wart, I know, but I've waited years to get my flock and in a week have reallt bonded with these ladies and would be heart broken if something happened to them.

Theyre otherwise healthy, pest free and like I said I'm a newbie and a worry wart.

Also the ameraucana I got (on top of being smack dab in the middle of a moult and scraggly from the prev owners rooster, so not expecting her to lay for a while) is getting picked on. She looks and sounds healthy, but since the others started pecking her shes gone from grazing with the flock to staying in the heated coop. She will still sleep with the group but seems a little clumsy and scared when the others are around (sticking her face in the corner) Is this normal?

Last edited: Dec 15, 2012
  2. Familyochickens

Familyochickens Out Of The Brooder

Jul 30, 2012