Egg Eater-Need Advice on How to Cull

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mylilchix, Apr 27, 2009.

1. mylilchix

mylilchix Chillin' With My Peeps

Well, I've discovered my buff brahma is eating eggs left behind by her fellow hens!! [​IMG] I want to cull her, but I don't know the best way to do it. This is my first time having to do so. What's the best way to put her out of my misery? Don't plan on eating her either (but that's a story for another day).

Thanks,
    Sonja

2. pinkfeather

pinkfeather Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 3, 2007
    CT
    There are probably other ways to break an egg eater other than culling them. [​IMG]

3. farmgirlie1031

farmgirlie1031 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2008
    IA
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 27, 2009
  4. Wynette

Wynette Moderator Staff Member

Sep 25, 2007
    Michigan
    Ummm....IMO, not a good idea to push your problem of an egg eater off on someone else...

But yes, there are easier ways to deal with them other than culling. You can collect often...call in help from neighbors if need be (that's what I did when I had the problem). Feed more protein; that's often the issue. Give your girls more things to do to take their minds off of it and "find a new hobby," put curtains over your nest boxes; often, out of sight is out of mind.

Best of luck!

5. Attack Chicken

Attack Chicken [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG] Hu

Sep 25, 2008
    Indianapolis, IN
    I have heard if you fill an egg with mustard they should stop.

6. mylilchix

I also discovered that she has a VERY bad case of bumble foot today. I don't want to try to treat both issues, so I'd rather cull.

Sonja

7. greathorse

greathorse Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    Northern Colorado
    A sometimes necessary unpleasant task. I frankly use a .22 at short range and is quick and decisive. Quick decapitation is also a technique considered to be over and done without a lot of suffering.