Egg laying Question

EastTexasChick

Chirping
9 Years
Mar 22, 2010
Hello everybody, I have a couple chicken questions about egg laying (Im really new to chickens, only had them about 3 months now)... I was just wondering (this is gonna sound so stupid I know) when a roo tops a hen will her next egg have a chick in it or does it take a couple of eggs later ? Also will she just have one chick or will she lay several eggs with chicks from the same roo (I always see a hen with several chicks in pictures so wasnt sure about this lol)... I know I have awhile before mine start to lay but I have a chicken and roo I want to breed and was just wondering about all this.. Thanks for any and all help...

It takes about 25 hours for an egg to go through the hen's internal egg factory. It can only be fertilized during the first 15 minutes of that process. Say a rooster mates with a hen on Monday. Monday's egg will definitely not be fertile from that mating. (They may have previously mated so it might be fertile) Tuesday's egg might be fertile or might not. It depends on what time the mating occurred on Monday and whether Tuesday's egg had started its way through the egg laying factory. Wednesday's egg will most likely be fertile.

A hen usually lays fertile eggs for an average of about 2 weeks after a successful mating. (You'll notice I'm using a lot of weasel words like usually, average, and about. It is not a definite) Some go longer, some less, but two weeks is pretty safe.

Thanks for answering my question... I had asked my husband about it last night (he use to have chickens a long time ago) and he just gave me a puzzled look and told me to ask some one on the fourms lol...

Last edited: