eggs turning until placed in incubator

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by candyschicks, Dec 27, 2015.

1. candyschicks

candyschicks New Egg

Dec 27, 2015
    As you will see i am VERY new to raising chickens. My husband looked at the history on my iPad and saw that i had looked at the 1502 GQF incubator many times over the last few months. I really wanted one, but being an old lady I was afraid I wouldn't understand how to properly use it. Well Christmas morning what a surprise there sat that beautiful incubator! Now everyone knows my story and how insecure I am about the process, my question is can the 1502 be used as an egg turner while collecting enough eggs to start the incubator. I only have 35 orpingtons, and some are just now laying. I unfortunately ended up with 4 extra roosters that were sold as hens, they were 22 weeks old and all looked the same when purchased. I am never going to fill the bator up, but Im getting 6 eggs a day and would like to collect for 7-8 days.

2. Birdrain92

Birdrain92 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 7, 2013
    Idaho
    Welcome to BYC! I have no experience with that incubator. I would love to get one but I just don't have the money and I don't like automatic egg rotators. You don't have to turn the eggs until you begin to incubate eggs.

3. OrganicFarmWife

OrganicFarmWife Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 21, 2015
    No where Nebraska
    Welcome! You came to the right place. This site is full of helpful people. When you get a chance check out the learning center, it is a great place to get lots of good info.
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center
    I have not yet tried my hand at incubation, it is in my 5 year plan. But I would think that anyone who could run an ipad, can run an incubator ;). Look at the incubation thread, they should be able to walk you through it.
    It is great to meet you!

4. candyschicks

candyschicks New Egg

Dec 27, 2015