Emergency HELP!!!

chxckens

In the Brooder
5 Years
Sep 28, 2014
Australia
Hi I am new to byc
My chicken is about 5-7 weeks old and has a red neck.it looks as if it uncomfortable and keeps stretching its neck and moving it like in circles.it won't eat and drink or I think even poos.it looks like if it's eaten to much cuz it's all puffy and bigger than the others.it keeps closing its eyes and sleeping.plz HELP!!!!!!!
1f629.png
1f630.png
1f62b.png

Greetings and
welcome-byc.gif

Can you describe the 'red neck'?

Sounds to me like maybe a bite from a snake, insect, or similar, maybe a reaction to a plant. Can you post a picture?

Either way it sounds like severe toxicity. The ruffled feathers indicate how unwell it feels.

It's smart for the chook to not eat or drink initially as this allows the immune system to properly devote all its resources to healing rather than digestion, but that said, some chooks take it too far. Suggestions for what to do to help the chook depend on how closely we can identify what is wrong.

If you know the chook has had access to dangerous plants or items to eat, activated charcoal would be one good idea. For general toxicity, about 1000mgs of Vitamin C would be helpful too, it can destroy toxins in the bloodstream after being absorbed, everything from snake venom to plant toxins and artificial chemicals.

But what you should ideally do depends on what's wrong. Some would flush the chook's system ASAP with something like bicarb of soda or epsom salts, but that red neck suggests the problem is likely not due to having ingested something wrong... Unless of course we're talking about the chook having swallowed a spider and then been bitten on the inside of the neck.

Depending on what the 'red neck' looks like, it may be an infectious disease you're dealing with; vitamin C will help with that too but, fair warning, this sounds pretty serious as you no doubt know, we may not be able to help your chook.