Ever use Ovabid.com?

kees

Crowing
15 Years
Feb 5, 2008
I've seen a site called Ovabid.com Some of the sellers are overseas. Has anyone else seen it or hear anything about it?

D.gif

Quote:
It is illegal to buy or sell birds outside of US borders. This is a very serious issue due to the avian flu and other epidemics and the USDA will fine and imprison. So I would steer clear of any over seas sellers. But some of our very good BYC members sometimes sell on Eggbid.com. I can't speak for Ovabid.

I never registered but I ususally check out what they have once a week. I just bought a clutch of eggs on eggbid and today is day 19 so we will see what happens as it is my first time buying on eggbid.

Last edited:
I have never bought from ovabid but I check it out all the time. I have bought from eggbid a few times. I have had 2 eggs hatch!! I did get a hen and a roo so I am ok with that. I also bought off of poultry bid and had like 3 eggs hatch but then they all died. It was weird they were really weak. So I am really just trying to stay away from shipped eggs. Good luck to you.

I have made one purchase from Ovabid and it was not good. I never got the eggs or any support from Ovabid when I asked. Fortunately Paypal helped me out and I got all my money back ($26.95). It was for Frizzle eggs.
I've never tried Eggbid.
I've had mixed results with Ebay, you can never tell with shipped eggs, it's always a gamble, between shipping being hard on them, and maybe not getting the breed you thought you were buying (I promise you, one of the "Blue Bib Call Duck Eggs" I hatched was NOT a Blue Bib Call Duck!) Depends on the risk you're willing to take!
I am still willing to give it a try! Lifes short!
Tina/tfpets